To comply with new EU laws regarding "cookies", we have updated our Terms and Conditions and provided a detailed description of how cookies work and are used on this website.  By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to those updated Terms and Conditions.
This notice should appear only the first time you visit the site.
Shaheed Fatima, 1999
"My year as a Kennedy Scholar at HLS was one of the best years of my academic life."
Shaheed Fatima, 1999

Chairman's Report

Since July 2016, I have been privileged to chair the Kennedy Memorial Trust after I succeeded Tony Badger who has given such distinguished and generous commitment over the past seven years.  We are very grateful to him and will hope to see him at Trust events in the future.

This year the Trust has marked the fiftieth anniversary of the first Scholars departing for the United States with three celebratory events.  In March there was a reception followed by a very enjoyable concert of American music, featuring the choir of Clare College, Cambridge.  In April, a dinner at the Kennedy Library was well-attended by Scholars young and a little older, including three from the original 1966 group.  Senator Paul Kirk acted as host for the evening and made a very eloquent speech about the importance Ted Kennedy placed on the British memorail to his brother.  It was particularly fitting that Vicki Kennedy was also able to attend.

Last week we were fortunate to be able to hold a reception at Buckingham Palace in the presence of The Duke of Cambridge.  I very much enjoyed meeting so many of you at this most successful and fitting occasion.  I was particularly struck by the number of you who had travelled great distances to be there.


In addition to Tony's retirement, Johnny Grimond completed his ten years as a Trustee in July and has been replaced by Mary Ann Sieghart.  Johnny has been generous with his time and has contributed so much to the Trust during his tenure.  We are very grateful for his dedication and commitment.

Financial Report

At the end of July 2016, the value of the endowment fund stood at £12.8 million, compared with £11.2 million in 2015. This is the first time since inception that the fund has been worth over £12 million.  This derives largely from a strong performance in US equities but the fund has also benefited from the £550,000 that 25% of alumni have given since 2011.  The fund continues to hold the bulk of its assets in tracker funds with a balance of currencies to match its expenditure and is managed by BlackRock.

The Trust’s Report and Accounts can be downloaded from the Charity Commission’s website at: and entering 234715 or Kennedy Memorial Fund.

Mark Walport  October 2016

Roll of Donors

The list of names that follows is based on all gifts received by the Kennedy Memorial Trust and includes an acknowledgment of anonymous donors.

We thank you all for your generosity.

Professor John Allum
Mrs Caroline Arms
Dr Linda Bilheimer

Dr Hilary Beattie

Dr Brendan Horton
Professor Robert Lucas
Dr Robin Petty
Dr Adrian Thomas
Anonymous (2)

The Right Hon Lady Justice Arden
Mr Charles de Chassiron
Lady Lester of Herne Hill
The Rt Hon William Waldegrave
Anonymous (2)

Professor John Craven
Mr and Mrs Robert John
Mr Timothy Ridley

Mr David and Mrs Eveline Speedie
Mr Colin Warren
Anonymous (1)

Dr Peter Parham
Professor Michael Proctor (in memory of Professor Susan Manning, trustee of the Kennedy Memorial Trust 2004-2013)
Professor Caroline Series
Mr Adrian Waghorn

Mr Leslie Kosmin
Mr Richard Wohanka
Dr Gordon Woo

Mr Stephen Locke
Anonymous (1)

Ms Antonia Bullard
Dr Peter Englander
Mr Christopher Fisher

Dr Rosalind Altmann
Professor David Edwards
Dr Charles Jonscher
Anonymous (1)

Professor Suzanne Franks
Professor Simon Goldhill
Mr William Wood
Anonymous (1)

Sir Nicholas Hamblen
Dr Barbara Imperiali
Dr Adrian Rossiter
Mr Timothy Sims
Mr Christopher Wyke
Mr Simon Yun-Farmbrough

Mr Graham Dunning
Professor Hannah Ginsborg
Anonymous (1)

Professor Michael Giles
Professor Susan Gilles
Professor David Shepherd

Mr Richard Davies

Ms Moira Wallace
Anonymous (1)

Mrs Judith Aldersey-Williams
Mr Anthony de Garr Robinson
Mr Romano Subiotto

Drs Matthew and Mary Lynn Realff
Mrs Margarita Sweeney-Baird

Professor Graeme Dinwoodie

Dr Sara LaPorta
Mr Mark Roberts

Ms Kate Bingham
Professor Henrietta Harrison
Dr Richard Holme
Ms Zanny Minton Beddoes

The Hon Diana Harding
Mr Rupert Morley

Ms Charlotte Hogg
Mrs and Mrs Frederick von Gottberg

Mr Nicholas Braden
Ms Maggie Roe

Dr Martin Andrews
Anonymous (1)

Dr Alexander Barnett

Mr Simon Aldridge
Dr Matthew Bidwell
Anonymous (1)

Ms Alix de Mauny
Mr Edmund King

Mr Samuel Gregory

Dr Thomas Karshan
Mr Adeel Mangi

Mr Hugh Harris
Mr Andrew Horne
Mr Jeremy Kutner

Ms Sasha Blackmore
Dr Kirsten Everett
Ms Lorna McGregor
Dr Christopher Whitton

Dr Thomas Baranga

Ms Amy Rogers
Anonymous (1)

Anonymous (1)

Anonymous (1)

Mr Shashank Joshi
Anonymous (1)

Mr Dale Winter